Posted by: debstake | February 10, 2012

Eugenics, Euthanasia or Murder??


Eugenics is defined according to Dictionary.com as: “the study of or belief in the possibility of improving the qualities of the human species or a human population, especially by such means as discouraging reproduction by persons having genetic defects or presumed to have inheritable undesirable traits (negative eugenics)  or encouraging reproduction by persons presumed to have inheritable desirable traits (positive eugenics).” Euthanasia is defined as: “Also called mercy killing. the act of putting to death painlessly or allowing to die, as by withholding extreme medical measures, a person or animal suffering from an incurable, especially a painful, disease or condition.” Murder is defined as:”Law . the killing of another human being under conditions specifically covered in law. In the U.S., special statutory definitions include murder committed with malice aforethought, characterized by deliberation or premeditation or occurring during the commission of another serious crime, as robbery or arson (first-degree murder),  and murder by intent but without deliberation or premeditation (second-degree murder).”
I give the definitions of these three words because for the second time in as many weeks there has been  published articles concerning this issue. Or more accurately killing disabled people. HERE is an article concerning this issue. The authors support the position of killing the disabled. HERE is another blogger critiquing their work.
Some might say that I am exaggerating the issue. However, one must remember how easy it would be for the federal government to get from individual states the autism registry that most states now have. I recall Obama attempting a national autism registry shortly after he took office. With the passage of the Obamacare bill, the rumored death panels, and the issues of the cost of the disabled under this health care plan, I must wonder what the motives are  for a federal autism registry.
I worry about this issue because again these were the same tactics used by Nazi occupied Germany during the late 30′s into the early 40′s. It began with forced sterilization and ended in murder for many who were less than “perfect”.  HERE is a slide show presentation of what the Nazi’s did to the less than perfect. There are other interesting slide shows to the right of the one being viewed. I would advise checking them out. What the Germans did was called eugenics, initially, what it became was genocide of more than 6 million Jews alone. What makes me worry even more than Nazi-Germany tactics coming to America is the fact that the eugenics movement that the Germans started with began in AMERICA. An example of the American eugenics program can be found HERE.  So no one will ever convince me that it can’t happen again. We are as uncivilized and barbaric now as we were then.
I have no issues with euthanasia as long as a basic criteria is met. That being; terminal illness and ability to make the decision for oneself. I think Dr. Kevorkian performed a needed service. The significant difference between eugenics and euthanasia is one is mandated by the government while the other is chosen by the individual.
If eugenics takes hold in this country again I think it would be a safe assumption that my daughter would be force sterilized simply because her brother has autism as autism does have a basis in genetic makeup. What frightens me even more is what would happen to my son. An example of what my son’s future may be can be found HERE

Responses

  1. Thanks for this post. I definitely agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  2. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would really benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Many thanks!

  3. feel free to quote away dear.

  4. I just added this feed to my bookmarks. I have to say, I really enjoy reading your blogs. Keep it up!

  5. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  6. Great post, I think blog owners should learn a lot from this blog its real user genial. So much excellent info on here :D.

  7. Wow! Thank you! I continuously wanted to write on my site something like that. Can I take a fragment of your post to my blog?

  8. Take what you want/need for your blog. All I ask is a link back to here. Best of luck with your blogging.

  9. I was reading through some of your articles on this website and I think this site is rattling instructive! Retain posting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

