Posted by: debstake | October 16, 2008

Denis Leary- Attack on autistic kids Savage style


So here we are again, almost three months to the day since Savage uttered those infamous words: ” In 99 percent of the cases, it’s a brat who hasn’t been told to cut the act out. That’s what autism is. What do you mean they scream and they’re silent? They don’t have a father around to tell them, ‘Don’t act like a moron. You’ll get nowhere in life. Stop acting like a putz. Straighten up. Act like a man. Don’t sit there crying and screaming, idiot.’ ” And now Denis (one “n” please) Leary, a man whom I have always admired and found very funny for his outlook on life is now saying: “There is a huge boom in autism right now because inattentive mothers and competitive dads want an explanation for why their dumb-ass kids can’t compete academically, so they throw money into the happy laps of shrinks . . . to get back diagnoses that help explain away the deficiencies of their junior morons. I don’t give a [bleep] what these crackerjack whack jobs tell you – yer kid is NOT autistic. He’s just stupid. Or lazy. Or both.”

And all though I don’t disagree with Savage’s take on the rise in autism he did not handle this well at all. However, Leary on the other hand just baffles my mind. Was this a publicity stunt to sell his latest book? Is he truly that ignorant to what autism is? He claims to have close family friends who have children with autism. If that is the case then how can he be so ignorant to this issue. I wonder just how close these family friends feel toward Leary right now. Now he is back peddling and trying, as Savage did; to explain away his insensitive statements. To view the back peddling go HERE. He also advises that people read the book and particularly the chapter entitled “Autism Schmautism” (another ploy at selling his book?). Which I fully plan on doing. However, I will not be buying the book. I am the second person on my local libraries waiting list for this book. A book the library doesn’t even have a copy of yet. When I get the book I will photo copy this chapter and if need be will include it verbatim in a later post. And yeah I know copyright laws and all that crap but as far as I am concerned he lost all copy right privilege when he decided to go after autistic children in the first place. Let’s see what Leary really meant.

I hope this event doesn’t become a quarterly battle for us; the parents and the children who are fighting every single day. I have more pressing issues to be dealing with then having to comment on every idiot who comes down the road proclaiming that autism equates to our kids being brats or stupid or lazy.

Responses

  1. Ruth,
    All though I am damning of typical parents it’s because of these parents attitude toward me, my husband and my son. When my son was younger he had typical autistic behaviors, yelling, temper tantrums, throwing himself on the floor. The looks and remarks we as his parents got were things I would never dream of saying to a parent. So as far as I am concerned I believe in the old adage: WHAT GOES AROUND COMES AROUND. And I stand by every word of it. Most children are insensitive unfeeling little brats who harass anyone different then they are (including my son and those like him). Where exactly, do you think they learned this intolerance from? Apples don’t fall from their trees.

    As to some parents of autistic children lacking; I agree 100%. Some are unfit to be parents let alone parents of a child with different abilities.

    I don’t understand your last remark of sticking together and country so I won’t address it.

  2. Maybe I misunderstood what he said; I will have another look at the passages. Still though, you seem rather damning of parents of ‘typical’ children. Many parents of ‘typical children’ are excellent parents who work extremely hard to give their child the upbringing they deserve. Some aren’t of course. And I daresay that there are some parents of autistic children who don’t give their children the love and care that they need.

    I can’t and won’t ‘stick together’ with someone purely because they are from the same country as me!

  3. Ruth,
    Does it really matter if he was having a “go” at the parents or the children? I happen to think the man is an idiot after being a fan for many years. After all he’s Irish and we Irish must stick together.

    However, what Leary said just proves his ignorance to what autism really is.What is described of his friends children is savant skills. And apparently as far as he’s concerned if the child doesn’t have savant skills (and 97% of autistics do NOT have these skills) then the child can’t be autistic and the parents are at fault.

    People who read this and who are ignorant (lacking knowledge) are going to think that this is true. We as parents are not competitive or lazy in our parenting skills. If anything we are tested daily by this condition known as autism. Tested in ways that parents of typical children could never understand. Living with an autistic child gives us the parents, things typical parents could use more of: compassion, strength, determination and a desire to love our children as they are, not as we wish them to be. Typical parents could take lessons from us.

    My suggestion Ruth is to read the most recent post on Leary as I have quoted the passages that prove just how stupid Leary is.

  4. The way I understand it is that Leary was not having a go at children (or anyone) who genuinely are autistic, but the cases where autism is falsely diagnosed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

