Posted by: debstake | January 16, 2012

iPad2 Has Arrived -UPDATED


Went to the school district on Thursday the 5th to pick up JR’s iPad2. Along with it came the protective case that the district also purchased. We went with the iAdapter case. I must say that I am very impressed with this case. In order to install the iPad you must undo nine phillips head screws from the back of it. There is no way to get the iPad out once it’s in without tools. It comes with a easel that is accommodated by a slot in the back (it’s not permanently attached). It is made of a polycarbonate plastic that is very hard and not likely to cause issues for our kids who have PICA issues. JR has some residual PICA issues when it comes to silicone as it is too easy and flexible. This is why we couldn’t entertain the Otterbox Defender class of protective case. HERE are instructions on how to adjust the volume once the iPad is within the case. And HERE is a video critiquing the case. However, and this may be a small issue for some, but the cord used to charge the case has gone bad already after only 8 days of having it. For someone with OCD issues like I have as well as a sense of fairness I believe ADMi (the seller) should stand behind what they sell, ALL of what they sell. UPDATE: this case is a piece of crap. The posts inside the case that the screws go into are snapping off!! I have already sent a review to ADMi (which I doubt will be published) and have added the review to my Facebook page for anyone to read. If you are interested in viewing it please go to: http://www.facebook.com/debstake.

 

I have noticed differences in how JR interacts with the iPad vs the iPod. When he had the iPod other than communicating with the P2G all he ever did was watch movies. Now he’s actually using some of the other “fun” apps.  I have to assume that the size of the screen is the reason why.  There are two apps that he is really enjoying and using often. The first is an app called First Words: Animals and it can be found HERE. The second one is an app I found on another app called Moms with Apps, this is a free app that makes family friendly suggestions of featured apps (they need to revamp their site though as many of the apps are just repeated, often and often in the same category, but it is free so it’s good). The app that I found on Moms with Apps is called Sea Puzzles for Kids and you can find it on the developers website HERE. Another good site is called Teachers with Apps. This site is obviously from a professional stand point. With so many apps out there these kind of sites really help in cutting down on time, cutting away the crappy apps and in the process saving everyone money. In these economic times I appreciate it. So check them out.

So on the whole I would say the iPad2 is a hit, much as I suspected it would be.

Responses

  1. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  2. Shadduck…rest assured this post was in fact written by me as are all of them save one.

  3. I wanted to follow up and let you know how , a great deal I loved discovering your web blog today. I would consider it an honor to do things at my office and be able to make use of the tips shared on your web site and also take part in visitors’ remarks like this. Should a position connected with guest writer become offered at your end, make sure you let me know.
    Panasonic Camera Reviews

  4. […] more here: iPad2 Has Arrived « Living With Autism In Central PA Category: Uncategorized Tag: arrived-went, district, district-on-thursday, iadapter, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

